Hit Enter to search or Esc key to close
Blog thumbnail

Balinese Hindu Temple

Balinese Hindu Temple

Blog thumbnail , ,

Unlike temples in Java, temples in Bali (called pura), become parts of the life of Balinese who mostly are Hindu. Balinese Hindu Temple is a place of worship for Hindu in Bali Islands. Each Hindu family has family temple to worship Hyang Widhi and their ancestors, so that there are thousands of temples in the island of Bali.

Balinese Hindu Temple Generally :

bali batuam templeKahyangan Desa Temple. Each village generally has three main temples called Tiga Kahyangan Temples or Tri Kahyangan Temples (temples of three nirvanas), i.e. temples to the worship of Sang Hyang Widi Wasa in three manifestations of power:

  1. Desa Temple to the worship of Brahma (the Creator)
  2. Puseh Temple to the worship of Vishnu (the Preserver)
  3. Dalem Temple to the worship of Shiva (the Destroyer)

Desa (village) Temple is also called Bale Agung, because the temple, which is usually located at village center, also serves as a venue for village consultative meeting.

Kahyangan Jagat Temple. Kahyangan Temple is a place where common people worship Ida Sang Hyang Widi Wasa in various manifestations and ancestral spirits.

Included in Kahyangan Jagat Temple category is Sad Kahyangan Temple (sad = six), i.e. a temple situated in six major Kahyangan in Bali.

Sad Khayangan Temples consists of:

  • Uluwatu Temple
  • Lempuyang Temple
  • Goa Lawah Temple
  • Batu Karu Temple
  • Bukit Pengalengan Temple
  • Besakih Temple

Sad Khayangan Temples is believed to be the spiritual vein of for Bali and a center for religious practices. Also included in the category of kategori Kahyangan Jagat Temples, in addition to Sad Kahyangan Temples, is Dhang Kahyangan Temples, i.e. a temple built by spiritual leaders in the past. Luhur Uluwatu Temple is also a Dhang Kahyangan Temples that was built in the 15th century by Dhang Hyang Nirartha.

Luhur Temples. Nearly all districts in Bali have Luhur Temples (luhur = high), i.e. temple whose anniversary is celebrated by followers by staging a piodalan (ceremony) that involves thousands of people. Tanah Lot Temples, Goa Lawah Temples, and Uluwatu Temples belong to this category.

Kawitan Temples. Balinese Hindu temple is a place of worship for family or descendants of a particular leader.

Temples belonging to this category are:

  • Sanggah-Pemerajan Temple
  • Pratiwi Temple
  • Paibon Temple
  • Panti Temple
  • Dadia or Dalem Dadia Temple
  • Penataran Dadia Temple
  • Pedharman Temple

Swagina Temples. This balinese hindu temple is a place of worship for people with particular liveli hoods or occupations, Temples belonging to this category are:

  • Melanting Temple for merchants
  • Subak Temple for farmers
Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

How can we help you?
Powered by